Log in
Leadership Napa ValleyLeadership Napa Valley

About Leadership Napa valley


Leadership Napa Valley involves, inspires, and informs leaders to strengthen our community.


Leadership Napa Valley is the go-to organization for leadership development and engagement in Napa County.

What is Leadership Napa Valley?

Leadership Napa Valley began in 1987 as a new program supported by the Napa Chamber of Commerce.

It is an intense, fun and educational experience. The program selects class members annually from a list of applicants who then embark on a 9-month journey together. During that time they learn leadership skills, teamwork and experience the many different pieces that make this county such a special place to live.

One Friday a month (plus a couple of Saturdays) the group meets with its facilitator to learn about a new aspect of the community; this includes government, business, health industry, tourism, agriculture and more.

The class also works in teams to develop a meaningful project that they present near the end of the year, in the hopes that it will have a lasting positive impact on the community. In effect, it’s their first team effort at local leadership! Some of the past projects that came from LNV include “Hands Across the Valley” and the DARE Foundation.


In the early years, getting people involved in LNV was a challenge. Since there had never been a local leadership program, it was all new territory. Under the direction of John Wagenknecht, who was already well known and respected in the community, the program soon developed a reputation for delivering a high-quality experience for participants. After John Wagenknect the County Office of Education managed the program and Kathy Merritt was the coordinator until passing the baton to Jill Techel who became the program coordinator in 1996.

Over the years the program has been refined and improved many times over, and today LNV is modeled after the best leadership training experiences in the country. More than 700 people have graduated from the program and gone forward with a deeper commitment to making Napa Valley a better place to live, work and grow.

Please look around our site for more information and feel free to contact us for more information.

Our Leadership

Executive Committee

Danielle Barreca,  Hedgerow Property Management

Vice President
Molly Rattigan, City of Napa

Natalie Griffin Scott, Napa Humane

Katarina Mezeiova, The Westin Verasa Napa

Past President
Catherine Heywood, Retired

Board of Directors

Committee Chairs

Development Committee Leaders
Kate Miller, Napa Valley Transportation Authority
Christine McMillan, CM Destinations

Recruitment Committee Leader
Peg Maddocks, Retired

Technology Committee Leader
Jeremy Mostafanejad, Trinchero Family Estates

Finance Committee Leader
Katarina Mezeiova, The Westin Verasa Napa

Program  Committee Leader
Jill Techel, Former Mayor of Napa

At Large

Matthew Garcia, City of Napa

Kathy Glass, Platypus Tours Limited

Carolyn Hamilton, Domaine Carneros Winery

Paul Oseso, Aegis Living
Robert Van Der Velde, Napa Valley College
Jessica Penman, Yountville Chamber of Commerce 
Jocelyn Hoar, JEH Associates, LLC
Jon Crawford

Staff & Volunteer Team

Administrative Services Director
Katherine Zimmer Burke |

Program Director
Jill Techel | email

Communications Committee Leader
Julie Polson, First Christian Church of Napa


P.O. Box 636   Napa, CA 94559

(707) 339-8881 -  info@leadershipnapavalley.org

© 2020 Leadership Napa Valley.
All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software